Drunken Conversations Vol. III

by cknguyener

archer-city-door-knob

“I’m sorry.”

He sounded so genuine, as if he was sincerely apologizing. Almost somber. I didn’t know what to make of it. His presence tonight was already taking me back to summer nights together one year ago.

“For what?”

I looked up, and glanced at his face. He was watching me, of course, like he used to. I wasn’t sure if the alcohol had something to do with it, but he did not seem overly flirty as I’ve previously seen him behave after one too many drinks.

“For not hanging out. There’s been…a lot going on.
I miss our pho dates.”

It seemed like a silly thing to apologize for, as he had only been back in town for a few days. It almost felt like a deeper apology, but for what, I wasn’t sure. It sounded deep-rooted. Was it for all of the things that happened so long ago? Would he even know to apologize for those things?

“Don’t worry about it.”

He seemed content with that, but still quiet. I didn’t say anything to give him hope, because I wasn’t sure if that was a door I’d ever reopen. And to be honest, I wasn’t sure if this was a conversation he would remember tomorrow.

He leaned over as if to whisper something, and instead left a soft kiss on my shoulder.

